In Cuba, two types of currency are officially in circulation: the Cuban Peso (CUP) and the Cuban Convertible Peso (CUC), both made up of 100 units of a cent.

The fixed exchange rate for the Cuban Convertible Peso is 1 CUC = 24 CUP, that is, one unit of the Cuban Convertible Peso (CUC) is equivalent to 24 units of the Cuban Peso (CUP).

Banknotes and coins in circulation have the following denominations:

CUP: 1, 3, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1,000 and the coins are 1, 2, 5, 20 cents and 1CUP and 3 CUP.


CUC: 1, 3, 5, 10, 20, 50 and 100 CUC and the coins are 1, 5, 10, 25, 50 cents and 1 CUC.

The Cuban Peso, as well as the Cuban Convertible Peso, may only be obtained and used in the Cuban territory.

EUROS are accepted in Varadero, Cayo Largo, Cayo Coco and Cayo Guillermo (Jardines del Rey), Playa Santa Lucia in Camagüey, Playa Covarrubias in Las Tunas and on the beaches of Holguín, Guardalavaca, Don Lino, Esmeralda and Pesquero.

In Cuba you can use credit and debit cards such as:



American Express




Business Center




Visa International


The exchange rates of the different currencies vary according to their value in the world market and are subject to changes, which may be known in the different bank branch offices of the country and in the Exchange Rate Offices (CADECA).

See in the yellow pages: CADECAS and Bancos Extranjeros y Nacionales (Foreign and National Banks)