Insomnio del soñador, de la serie Torres, Roberto Fabelo.
De izquierda a derecha Quique Martínez, presidente de Ingenería del Arte; Gustavo Villariño, arquitecto; Jorge Fernández Torres, comisario y director del Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes; y José Manuel Noceda, curador de Tiempos de intuición.

Since 1895, the Venice Biennial has been an open window to contemporary international art, allowing artists of different nationalities and generations to exhibit and share a climate of humanity and universal brotherhood that bears no prejudices, borders or ideological barriers. It stands today among the oldest and most prestigious in the world, and laid the first stone on the road to a new model of international circulation and promotion of art.
This 2017 marks the sixty-fifth anniversary of Cuba's art first participation. In 1952, Cuba sent a delegation of fourteen artists, representative of the vanguard at the time.
In the 57th edition, an equally numerous delegation was presented, coordinated by curator José Manuel Noceda and headed by Jorge Fernández Torres, a curator of the exhibition and director of Cuba’s Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes (National Museum of Fine Arts). "It has been very important for Cuban art," declared Fernandez during the opening day, "to occupy this pavilion with artists so different from each other in terms of their formal pursuits, their poetics and the nature of their creative processes. It is also necessary to recognize the effort made by the Cuban government to maintain a project of this magnitude, of this size."
Cuba made headlines in Venice, with a very large exhibition that occupies the two levels of the old and prestigious Loredan Palace, very close to Plaza San Marcos (St. Mark's Square,) which in a few weeks registered a record number of attending public.
Tiempo de la intuición (time for intuition) is an extensive sample that incorporates several generations and promotions of the Island and place consecrated creators in a dialogue, some of them holders of the Premio Nacional de Artes Plásticas (National Prize of Plastic Arts,) with younger figures that already enjoy remarkable recognition. According to this logic, artists Iván Capote, Abel Barroso, Roberto Diago, Roberto Fabelo, José Manuel Fors, Aimée García, Reynier Leyva Novo, René Peña, Wilfredo Prieto, Mabel Poblet, Carlos Martiel, Meira Marrero & José Ángel Toirac, José E. Yaque and Esterio Segura share the space at the halls of the Loredan Palace.